Blog Tour and Giveaway: The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada’s Reef by Michael D Beil

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE SWALLOWTAIL LEGACY: Wreck at Ada's Reef by Michael D. Beil Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About the Book:

Title: THE SWALLOWTAIL LEGACY: Wreck at Ada's Reef (The Swallowtail Legacy #1)

Author: Michael D. Beil

Pub. Date: February 15, 2022

Publisher: Pixel+ink

Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 256

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org

Punctuated with transcripts, letters, maps, black-and-white illustrations and more, The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada's Reef is a vibrant contemporary mystery with a classic feel exploring righting past wrongs, redefining family, and finding yourself.

Twelve-year-old Lark Heron-Finch is steeling herself to spend the summer on Swallowtail Island off the shores of Lake Erie. It's the first time that she and her sister will have seen the old house since their mom passed away. And while her stepfather and his boys are okay, the island's always been full of happy memories--and now everything is different.

When Nadine, a close family friend, tells Lark about a tragic boat accident that happened off the coast many years before, Lark's enthralled with the story. Nadine's working on a book about Dinah Purdy, Swallowtails's oldest resident who had a connection to the crash, and she's sure that the accident was not as it appeared. Impressed by Lark's keen eye, she hires her as her research assistant for the summer.

And then Lark discovers something amazing. Something that could change Dinah's life. Something linked to the crash and even to her own family's history with Swallowtail. But there are others on the island who would do anything to keep the truth buried in the watery depths of the past.

A compelling and complex mystery with a classic feel, Wreck at Ada's Reef is perfect for fans of The Parker InheritanceHolesThe Westing Game, and anyone looking for a satisfying puzzle that stretches across decades.

Review:

"Each character, historic and contemporary, sparks with life. Larks process and the reveals are perfectly paced. . . . Most heartwarming, Lark develops feelings of loyalty toward her blended family and uncovers a surprising link to their property. Readers will be hooked—more, please!"—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

 

My Review: 

The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada's Reef is a great little mystery to read. Even though it is in the market for younger readers, I was entertained from the start. It was excited to take a trip to Swallowtail Island and meeting Lark. Lark discovers so much that could change lives. I wanted to keep reading to find out how it would all unfold. 

The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada's Reef will be getting five stars from. I recommend it for readers who enjoy reading mysteries and are between the ages of seven and twelve. It would be a great addition for in classrooms, local and school libraries. My copy will be staying on my keeper shelf for my children to enjoy again and again. 

I received a paperback copy of The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada's Reef from the publisher, but was not required to write a positive review. This review is one hundred percent my own honest opinion. 

 

About Michael D. Beil:

In a time not long after the fifth extinction event, Edgar Award-nominated author Michael D. Beil came of age on the shores of Pymatuning Lake, where the ducks walk on the fish. (Look it up. Seriously.) He is the author of the Red Blazer Girls series, Summer at Forsaken Lake, Lantern Sam and the Blue Streak Bandits, and Agents of the Glass: A New Recruit. For reasons that can't be disclosed until September 28, 2041, he now lives somewhere in Portugal with his wife and their two white cats, Bruno and Maisie. He still gets carsick if he has to ride in the back seat for long and feels a little guilty that he doesn't keep a journal. For more on the author and his books, visit him online at www.michaeldbeil.com.

 

Website | Facebook | Goodreads| Amazon

 

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE SWALLOWTAIL LEGACY: Wreck at Ada's Reef, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

2/7/2022

Pick A Good Book

Review/IG Post

2/7/2022

The Reading Wordsmith

Review/IG Post

2/8/2022

YABooksCentral

Excerpt

2/8/2022

Kait Plus Books

Excerpt/IG Post

2/9/2022

Nonbinary Knight Reads

Review/IG Post

2/9/2022

Girls in White Dresses

Review

2/10/2022

Little Red Reads

Review

2/10/2022

@jypsylynn

Review/IG Post

2/11/2022

Eye-Rolling Demigod's Book Blog

Review/IG Post

2/11/2022

The Bookwyrm's Den

Review/IG Post

Week Two:

2/14/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review/IG Post

2/14/2022

OneMoreExclamation

Review/IG Post

2/15/2022

Nerdophiles

Review

2/15/2022

@coffeesipsandreads

Review/IG Post

2/16/2022

The Momma Spot

Review/IG Post

2/16/2022

BookHounds YA

Review

2/17/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review

2/17/2022

@enjoyingbooksagain

Review/IG Post

2/18/2022

Two Points of Interest

Review

2/18/2022

Locks, Hooks and Books

Review